Eleana Hotel. Apartments in Ireon - Samos

Get away from it all

Guests Reviews

 

Ireon - Samos

 Derek G

London, England, United Kingdom 

 Another perfect holiday!

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 8 September 2014

This was our 10th year with Eleana and her wonderful family. We always return because of the wonderful welcome and perfect treatment we receive. The rooms are spotless and Eleana ensures you are never without.
we look forward to booking for 2015.

Thank you Eleana for the many years of happy holidays you have given us both.

There should be a sixth star rating for this appartment!

Candida and Derek. xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple

 

diana998   North Vancouver, BC 

 "We couldn't have found a better place”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 September 2014 

We went for 3 days and stayed 8! Ditto to all the other rave reviews. Wonderful location, cute and relaxing town, can't beat Ileana's hospitality!!! A great please to refuel the romance! I highly recommend to any travelers.

 

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed with Eleana 2 years ago and returned in July this year. Everything was just as good as we remembered. The spacious, spotless, well serviced apartment; the convenient location but above all the hospitality of Eleana and her family. This is the place to stay if you are visiting Samos.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple

 

 True Greek hospitality

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our family has been visiting Greece for almost 30 years and I can honestly say that this was the best apartment we've stayed in. Spotlessly clean, spacious, cooled by ceiling fans, tons of storage space, mossie nets over the windows!!! and very comfortable. As other guests have pointed out, Eleana herself is incredibly friendly and hospitable. She insisted on meeting us at the airport, despite having a little boy and a 7 month old baby to look after! Nothing was too much trouble and everything she kindly presented us with was home made. The rest of her family were also very welcoming, and made us feel completely at home.
As her guests, we also benefitted from a discount at the nearby "Friendly Car Hire" office. It's not necessary to hire a car since Ireon has everything you need, but Samos is a beautiful island and there are some lovely places to visit if you do. It has some beautiful beaches and is one of the best islands I've visited for snorkelling. Eleana is full of information on what to see (including museums and sites) if you need it.
If you want to experience true Greek hospitality, then don't hesitate. It's no wonder her guests return year after year.

Room Tip: Would recommend Apt 4 on the 1st floor if it is free. It has twin beds and is very spacious with a... 
 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you look you'll see that I've reviewed these apartments before. There's not many places in the world that I feel drawn back to again and again, but the village of Ireon and Iliana's wonderful apartments are something special. The location's fantastic, only about 15 minutes by taxi from the airport, so within 40 minutes or so of landing at the airport you can be wallowing in the warm sea, or sipping your first ice-cold Mythos beer in the friendly kafenion in the village square. The village square is less than a minute from the apartment, and the sea is only a couple of minutes away.

Iliana's apartments are simple, but very comfortable. All are spotlessly clean and each one has a balcony or a terrace with a view down to the sea or up to the mountains behind.

Right opposite there is a fish taverna. It may look a little scruffy, but don't be fooled. Here you will find the freshest fish and the cheapest prices in Samos. I'm really not kidding. Last year three of us stuffed ourselves with fresh fish, greek salad and a litre and a half of the local wine, and it was 11 euros each.

Nearby, Iliana's friends run Cohyli, a charming garden restaurant with amazing food in a lovely setting.

The village is only small, but there's enough great small family-run restaurants to eat at a different place every night if you want to.

There's plenty to keep you perfectly happy in Ireon, but it's very easy to get the bus to different places like the nearby town of Pythagoria with it's old castle, ancient ruins and harbour-side restaurants.

We're already looking at flights to book for this summer, and we'll be staying at Iliana's as usual!
 
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 June 2013

Whenever you want to stay at Samos, go to Ireon and book one of the lovely studio's of Eleana!
I stayed more than three weeks at her place and enjoyed every second of it. The rooms are sunny, very very clean and nicely decorated with warm colors. Eleana and her mom spoiled me with all kind of treats : cake, traditional food, eggs, olives, cheese, lemonade, olive oil...and I had fresh flowers in my room when I arrived.
The location could not be better with the seaview and very close to the square.
I just cannot wait to go back there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
 
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 June 2013

We returned again to the beautiful Island of Samos and stayed in Ireon at the Eleana Apts.
We would not stay anywhere else on the Island even though there are lots of beautiful places to visit; it is always lovely to return to Ireon at the end of the day to relax.
Ireon has a square with some bars and restaurants where you can sit and people watch or just switch off and stare out to sea & the Turkish coast. Pythagorio with its beautiful harbour full of yachts and plenty of bars and restaurants is only a ten minute drive away if you fancy a change for the evening.
Buses also leave from Ireon to various locations and there is a taxi rank in the square.

Eleana has her own web site where you can view her 2 apts & 6 studios for more information. Thomson & Sunvil Flights (Germania Air) fly direct to Samos or else you fly to Athens, then onto Samos either by plane or boat. Well worth it whichever way you go.

Once again we hired a car from Costas at “Friendly Car Hire” and even though we had one last year we still found different places to visit & eat out at. We also went on the boat trip to Patmos, well worth a visit. If you love Greece and its history and scenery you must definitely visit Samos. Do not be put off by the problems of Greece you will receive a warm and friendly welcome on the beautiful Island of Samos and it is this warmth and friendliness from the people that draws you back each time.

We would definitely recommend a stay in Ireon at Eleana's apts you could not ask for nicer people to stay with, so once again thank you Iliana and family, we had a lovely holiday and look forward to our next one with you.

All the very best
Jean & Paul

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
 
 
 

Review Legrandbleu22

Date of review 27 June 2011

“Highly recommended!”

I travelled to Ireon looking for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful location amongst friendly people and I was not disappointed. 
Like all the reviews before me, I only have high praise for Iliana's apartments in Ireon. The apartments are clean, spacious and located just moments away from the beach, shops, and restaurants. Ireon itself is a picturesque small town with a crystal clear turquoise sea and a good selection of quality restaurants and bars overlooking the water. People there are warm, welcoming and incredibly friendly. The island of Samos has lots to offer and Ireon is a good place to base yourself for making day trips to explore other parts of the island.
But it is Iliana's hospitality and efforts to make you feel at home that really made this holiday stand out from any other. On my arrival the fridge was stocked with goodies from her garden (milk, cheese, eggs) and on a number of occasions Iliana cooked me a lovely breakfast. She has a genuine interest in making her guests feel like they are in their own home and will go out of her way to be helpful. On my last night, Iliana cooked a wonderful dinner for all her guests and invited us all to join her family for a memorable meal. Iliana is a fantastic cook and her husband served us a lovely Samos wine that he had made himself. 
Many of Iliana's guests return year after year and I can understand why. I left Ireon touched by the generosity of Iliana and the opportunity to experience authentic Greek island life. It was a memorable holiday and I cannot recommend Eleana's appartments enough.

Review Freecat36

Date of review 14 May 2011

“Incredibly nice people”

Spent an extremely relaxing 2 days in laid-back friendly Ireon. The apartment was large and clean with a separate kitchen (a real plus) & balcony with sea view. The apartment was very well stocked with everything we needed from extra pillows & blankets to kitchen utensils and regularly cleaned while we were there.
The owner Ileana is a lovely host. She brought us jam and fruits on our arrival and was constantly but unobtrusively solicitous regarding our comfort & needs. She took us on a an excellent tour free of charge in the middle of our stay to some of the most interesting sights of Samos (there are many things to see) and cooked us a lovely breakfast on our last day but one as well as dropping us to the airport for our departure.
Ireon is a quiet little seaside village with a good choice of restaurants, cafes & shops/internet cafes/supermarkets.

 

Review byPercyF66

Date of review 12 May 2011

 “Greek Friendliness and Warmth.”

Expecting the usual "Here are your keys and there are our contact details and house rules" I was so warmly surprised by Iliana's generosity and friendliness. Because of the limited bus service she picked me up at the airport; Greek delicacies in the apartment (self made), contacted a cousin of mine on Samos (from the telephone directory) and arranged a meeting, invited me to her family home high up the hill for coffee and a chance to take some stunning pics of Samos Town and then arranged my 6.00am taxi back to the airport. Next time on Samos I would plan my holiday only with her. Percy -

 

Review By Brixx

Date of review: Jan 23, 2011

“Another fabulous stay”

We’ve just booked to go back to Eleana’s later this year which will be our sixth stay at these fabulous apartments. Last year we were welcomed back like old friends and had a fantastic time concluding with the amazing dinner Iliana cooked us on our last night (see photos). As well as the warm welcome, the apartments themselves are spotlessly clean and really comfortable. They are located in Ireon, a quietish village by the sea and a short walk from the classical ruins at the Temple of Hera. Ireon has a central square surrounded by cafes where old men play backgammon and grandmothers keep an eye on their grandchildren as they play. Apart from the cafes, there are seven or eight really good tavernas and a good handful of beachside bars. There are also several general stores and a well-stocked supermarket where you can stock up on essentials such as chilled Samiot wine direct from the barrel, plump black olives and freshly baked bread. The bakery down by the village square does excellent spinach pies but, be quick, they go, well, like hot pies...


I honestly can’t recommend Eleana’s apartments enough and will keep returning, year after year, to this wonderful place in this lovely village by the sea. 

Date of Review Dec 2010

TwoTunes

“Home from home” 

Eleana's stands just behind the main square and town beach, close to all the restaurants, bars and shops in the small seaside town of Ireon. The owner Iliana, picked me up from the airport for the 10 minute ride to Ireon and continued the warm hospitality throughout my stay, with little treats and cakes dropped off. 

The studio apartment was very comfortable, well equipped and nicely furnished in simple Greek style. I felt immediately at home, enjoying the gentle bustle of village life from my balcony.
The town beach is five minutes, so close that it's not a drag to pop back and forth during the day, with another (Pappa beach) further along the coast (fifteen minutes walk). Beds and umbrellas available, lovely swimming at both.
The village is nice just to wander round, with some pleasant walks into the hills behind; it's also one of the friendliest places I've been, in a low-key, not-just-because-you're a tourist, way.
For more energetic days, you can hop on a bus into ancient Pythagorian or on to Samos Town (Vathi) for an afternoon at the archaeological museum. I caught the bus for the short hop back to the airport, too.

Eleana's is the perfect base for a relaxing holiday, doing exactly what you feel like doing; just my cup of tea. 

Date of Review Nov 2010

Robyness - Australia

“Wonderful stay.” 

Stayed at Eleana Apartments in October, 2010 and had a great time. Eleana was at the airport, as organised, to pick us up. She is the most happy and obliging person...very sweet!

Our room was lovely and from our balconies, we could see the ocean. Because we visited Samos at the end of the tourist season, we almost had Ireon to ourselves which was rather nice. Eleana asked us to have dinner with her family the first night of our stay and we really appreciated her hospitality. She cooked up a storm and made us feel very much at home.
Eleana helped us with our sightseeing and explained how to get to other parts of the island.
I would highly recommend staying at Eleana Apartments if you visit the lovely island of Samos. 

Date of review: Nov 16, 2010
 
Marinos Salt Lake City Utah. 
 
“What a find!” 

I have never stayed in a more nice place, inexpensive, and with such a lovely and friendly hostess as iliana. The apartments are very nice, and she did the interior decorating herself. She brought me warm loukoumades just out of the oven, and stafili, green grapes, right from her garden. Ireon is a nice little sea shore town, many good tavernas and good Greek food, mini-market, super market, bakery. My stay was only 2 1/2 days, and now, I know where I will stay again when I go back for a longer time.  

Date of review: 16 Nov 2010

Joan B

“Just Like Family” 

I have reviewed Eleana's several times......and it is always wonderful. We have been visiting for 8 years now (9th booked for May 2011) and we are always surprised! Now we have young Constantinos to entertain us.. Eleana and family are always so friendly and the studios are large and very well presented. Yes, Eleana does bring all kinds of foods for you to enjoy....Ireon is lovely....what are you waiting for????????????

  • Reviewer ratings for this hotel:
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
  • Date of stay: September 2010
  • Visit was for: Leisure
  • Travelled with: With Spouse/Partner
  • Age group: 50-64
  • Member since: 23 June 2007
  • Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Date of review: 25 Sep 2010
 
Iris and Graham

A 15 min. ride from the airport takes you to this comfortable, spotlessly clean accommodation in the centre of the town. Eleana lives on the premises and is helpful and axious to make your stay special. There was no air con. in our apartment, but the bedroom had a large ceiling fan. A modern, large supermarket; a bakery; car hire firms; fruiit shop; bus and taxi stop; and gift shops are just a 2 minute stroll away, as are bars, cafes and tavernas.

|reon is ideal for a relaxing beach and sea holiday. Traffic and aircraft noise is not a problem. The beach ( 5 mins from Eleana apartments) is white pebbles. There are umbrellas, sun beds, showers and changing booths but no watersport activities. Bars, cafes and tavernas overlook the beach. A 20 minute walk takes you to Pappa beach, a tiny cove overlooked by a taverna, with sun beds and umbrellas. Go there for a great - and different! - day out by the sea.

Ireon has many excellent tavernas, serving a value-for-money menu of a consistently high standard. It is not suitable for 18-30 Club Med or amusement park holidaymakers. It is ideal for a relaxing "real Greece" holiday

  • Reviewer ratings for this hotel:
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
  • Date of stay: September 2010
  • Visit was for: Leisure
  • Travelled with: With Spouse/Partner
  • Member since: 13 July 2010
  • Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Eleana Apartments - Ireon

Date Submitted - June 2006

Opinion submitted in Feb 2007 by : Motorbike Barry

Three Reasons to return........
 
1st: Eleana Apartments: We have stayed here for several years yet we are still amazed at the warm welcome we receive on arrival. Greated like long lost friends, it almost feels like coming home. Our apartment always ready, clean and comfortable and ideally positioned for the local amenities.

2nd: Ireon: A quiet family orientated little resort with a town square, a few shops, cafes and water side restaurants also 2 highly recommended restaurants away from the seafront. The Blue Anchor has excellent food and service and Cohyli which has both excellent food and a lovely garden setting.

3rd: Pappa Beach: This is a very special place just along the head land. A taverna run by the lovely Maria and her husband Kostas with her two children Demitri and Nicos. Here you will find a small cove with sunbeds set at different levels with excellent food and service and a very warm welcome. My wife spends all her days there while I hire a motorbike and visit all the other sites of Samos. But for us this is Samos at its best. A little piece of heaven.

Barry & Rosemarie Ellmer
Eleana Apartments - Ireon

Operator and Date: Manos - September 2005

Opinion submitted in Mar 2006 by : Peter & Lesley Day 46,45

Resort Rating: Excellent

Accommodation Rating: Excellent

My/Our Holiday Opinion: 

We have been to Samos many times and this was our second visit to the Eleana Apartments in Ireon. We were welcomed on our arrival by the owner, Eleana, who appeared genuinely pleased to see us back. The apartments are set just back from the seafront, 50 metres from the main square and surrounding restaurants and bars. Very clean accommodation is provided, fans are available to hire, and kitchen facilities are also provided. Any one who actually cooks on holiday wants their head testing in my book, with all the great local food available in the restaurants, but if you want to, the facilities are up to it. 

The resort is quiet and if you want a relaxing non stressed holiday, this is the place to be. There are enough restaurants and bars for a different choice most nights, if you like to flit about. They are all good, and 1 or 2 stick out as better, but I won't name them here, because next time I go you might be there and take the last table!!! If you are the sort to venture out, Pythogoria is just down the road and is the best "busy" resort on the island. You can get there by Bus or Taxi, or you can hire bikes and cars in Ireon. Going around the island is easy in a car or on a scooter, we've done both, it's fairly busy in August /September but out of seasons there is very little traffic to bother you. Next round the island after Pythogoria is Samos which is the capital and harbour. Ferries come in here and you can island hop from for the day if you wish. It has a lot of shops and cafes, but it's not really a touristy type place, well not to me, a lot of the cafes are full of Greek teenagers on certain days, but it's a great place to shop! From there on there are lots of little bays, beautiful bays where you can get something to eat and drink, some are almost deserted certain days, which we love! If you are prepared to drive this is a beautiful island with lots of surprises! 

If you want to go to Ireon, book a flight and ring The Eleana direct, they have a website . The village is only 15 minutes in a Taxi from the airport. Manos don't go there anymore. Rumour has it that tour companies only make money if they get you on trips, and the trouble with Ireon is its so nice no-one wants to leave! A lovely unspoilt quiet island I would recommend to anyone who wants a well earned break. PS Get to Kokkari if you can, about 30 minutes from Samos, a beautiful place, with some great restaurants and bars. 

Ireon - Samos

Eleana Apartments - Ireon

Operator and Date: Manos

Opinion submitted in August 2006 by : Jim and Monica 60

Resort Rating: Excellent

Accommodation Rating: Excellent

What a great little place it is, only 10min from the airport, and it is so nice that no-one goes on Holiday Companies trips.. so that's why the holiday companies have mostly pulled out,  instead they stick you in a resort like Kambos - Votsalakia, miles from anywhere else on the Island, so if you want to see more and you won't drive, you have to go on a trip with them. We're still making our way there this year getting a flight with my travel, and booking the hotel direct. No more expensive , in fact slightly cheaper, and we're going to our chosen resort. Kokkari is very nice too, but our preference is Ireon.;

Eleana Apartments - Ireon

Operator and Date: Manos Holidays      May 2005

Opinion submitted in June 2005 by : Dave and Mandy

Resort Rating: Very Good

Accommodation Rating: Very Good

We have stayed on Samos many times and rented various apartments, but we always come back to Ireon. Fabulous resort, great food and ice cold beer. Eleana Apartments are not with any tour operator now but you can book direct. well worth a visit to this peaceful part of the world with plenty to see and do. We go back 6th Sept 06, cant wait.

Eleana Apartments - Ireon

Operator and Date: (
Manos Discounts) Manos Holidays      May 2003

Opinion submitted in June 2003 by : John and Jean
Resort Rating: Very Good

Accommodation Rating: Very Good
We went to Samos on a Walking Holiday in May 2003.The cost was only £222 per person for two weeks self catering. We were pleasantly surprised that we were sent to a small village called Ireon on the South cost of Samos.

The Eleana Apartments, run by Illiana were both clean, pleasant and only 50 mtr from the beach.
If a holiday to Greece means relaxing by the sea, eating good food and drinking with your feet in the Aagen then Ireon is the place to be. This small resort has not lost its simple Greek charm.
Ireon made a great base to explore the island. There were lots of hiking trails out of the village and the higher mountains were just a 15 minute car ride away.all in all a very good holiday.  

Welcome

Recent Photos

Newest Members